Out for a move, are ya, bud?

This post is being written because I forgot about this blog (again), and I want to avoid packing, which is what I should be doing. Can’t remember if I’ve mentioned it on here, but since it’s official now, I’ll say it again: I’m moving on August 1 to a 1-bedroom flat a block away. It’s a block closer to both campuses that I study at, the same distance from work (although a slightly longer walk), and exponentially nicer than where I live now: no bats, no mice, a responsive maintenance department, and windows that actually seal in the winter. This apartment on Pinckney Street has served me very well for this first year of living alone, thank you very much, but I couldn’t be more excited to move to Wisconsin Avenue.

Speaking of Wisconsin Avenue, July has brought me closer to the one that I grew up near. I got to go home for 7 days in early July, and will be back next week for another 6. It’s been really nice being home so much; every time I’m back, I remember why I miss it. Of course I’m home for the highlights: the talent show, Lola and Lolopop’s 50th, and more. Still, I needed the time away from the East Coast to realize that I probably belong there. I probably don’t belong in Madison, not long-term.

So that brings me to the purpose of this post: the plan.

The plan was never set in stone, but as I anticipated, it changed in ways I couldn’t even begin to imagine a year ago. By the way, exactly one year ago today, I met Paul, the man who kept me on track to move here when I had more or less gotten cold feet. I was planning to see him at his new job today, but time got away from me with schoolwork. He works as a VW salesman now. Couldn’t be happier for him.

Here’s the plan as I see it now: I go through periods of loving Madison, and periods of being extremely, terribly unhappy with it. I couldn’t ask for a better job or group of people to be friends with here, but it’s so far away from everything else, and it’s so small. So I’m giving it one more year, and then re-evaluating.

UW-Madison has indicated that they’re on the fence about granting me residency. If it requires lawyering up, it’s probably not worth it. So, if they deny me admission or deny me residency, I will leave at the end of the next lease. The saying goes “if at first you don’t succeed, try, try again.” That’s all well and good. But maybe not succeeding on the third try means I should try somewhere else. I’ll withdraw from Madison College and make the gap year a full one, working full-time and maybe getting a second job through the end of my lease. Winter is hard enough anyways.

If they grant me admission, I’ll enroll for the Spring 2015 semester. And then we’ll see how it goes. Regardless, I’m going to be filling out transfer applications to a few different schools: University of Maryland-College Park is one of them. University of Illinois-Chicago is another. A few in New England are also on the list, although those are less certain, so I won’t mention them for now. This way, if I decide that I don’t like UW-Madison after actually being there, I have somewhere else to go. If I decide that it’s worth staying, then I’ll stay. We shall see.

In the meantime, I’m super excited to be coming home again, and I really am enjoying Madison in the summer. It’s a super nice place to be. The updated header photo is more or less the view from my backyard. I can’t complain about that.

 

Leave a Reply

