The bat post

For those of you who don’t use Facebook/don’t care:

Image

It’s true. And it did get really old. It was old the first time. Thankfully, the problem seems to be mostly eradicated – since I angrily confronted maintenance about it 6 days ago, the problem has been gone (as far as I know).

It’s been a really long time since I’ve posted on here, a good month. Finals happened, and that’s mostly why. I had a lot of work to do, but it paid off – finished my first semester of college on dean’s list. Plans are currently in the works with UW Continuing Studies to start there next fall part-time. I may have hit a small snag with residency – I need to testify in person that I was only a part-time student – but that shouldn’t be a problem.

Other than school and the bats, I really have nothing much to report. Madison has been getting nicer and nicer as the weather warms up. Many a lazy afternoon is spent at James Madison Park or at the rocky enclave even closer to my apartment, watching the sailboats and the sunset. It isn’t a bad way to live. I’m excited to be spending about two weeks of July back in Maryland, but I can’t say I have any doubts about liking Madison in the summer.

One fun thing to report: once again, one of my Wisconsinite pals may be in the DC area the same time I am. She’s actually moving there in late August for grad school, and needed recommendations for places to live. Of course I recommended Silver Spring/Takoma Park/Wheaton as a cheap(er) alternative to living downtown. She’s looking for an area with Latino supermarkets, and I think we may be able to hook that up. (She has no idea what’s in store for her. Wow.) So, on that note, if any of the 3-4 people who actually read this blog know of cheap(ish) dog-friendly apartments or houses looking for roommates, shoot me an email.

I don’t know what else to say, really. I keep in touch with most of you anyways, which is why I feel less obligated to post all the time, but I’ll try to be more consistent.

Leave a Reply

